Stay Social. Stay Sane.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Author Topic: Gestational Diabetes Information  (Read 2789 times)

Shari

• View Profile
Gestational Diabetes Information
« on: May 19, 2009 at 09:29 AM »
I am on my third pregnancy with gestational diabetes. While I would not say I am an expert, I do have a lot of information. I am going to share my information, which may help a few of you.

Gestational Diabetes Test
Gestational diabetes is generally tested between the 24 and 28th week. You drink glucola and an hour later they draw blood and test your blood sugar level. Blood sugar levels are just numbers and there are limits. For this test your blood sugar has to be 139 or lower. Anything higher usually triggers another longer test. In this test you get a lot more glucola and you come back every hour for 3-4 hours to have blood drawn. This gives Drs a better idea of how you process sugars (carbs). Glucola affects everyone differently. It is a orange drink that is really sugary but tastes like flat orange soda. Some get sick off it, like me, and some do just fine.

Now some doctors decide to do this earlier than 24 weeks. In my first pregnancy I was tested at 14 weeks. Being so new, I could not even tell you my test results.