Stuck in BedStuck in Bed

Author Topic: Bed Rest in Paris France  (Read 2422 times)

lmarieparis

• View Profile
Bed Rest in Paris France
« on: August 08, 2009 at 04:31 PM »
Hello to everyone. I am just beginning my 33rd week of pregnancy. I've been on bed rest since 26 weeks and just found this forum. I have another 5 weeks to go or so on bed rest. We are from the USA and my husband took a job posting for 3 years in Paris France. We moved here the 16th of March. All was going very well & then we moved into a wonderful suburb of Paris called Le Vesinet.  After unpacking many boxes and going up and down stairs, ( really I didn't think I was doing that much & of course I didn't do any lifting) I started to have regular contractions at 26 weeks. We went to the American Hospital in Paris where I will deliver. My due date is September 24th. Anyhow, I was contracting. I was sent home on strict bed rest with medicine called Loxen ( similiar to Procardia in the US) the stuff makes me crazy and really lowers my blood pressure. All is well now, no dilation, cervix is no longer thinned and closed. So for now I must hang in there until the first week of September and then the doctor will take me of the meds.

We have a 2 1/2 year old who was born at 36 weeks. And I have 3 older children ( 16, 15 & 7) back in the USA -- visiting Mama here in France for the summer :) YES!! I just need some support to stay in bed here for the remainder. I go weekly for doctors visits now and so far so good, we are keeping things quite.
Thank you and looking forward to reading all the posts here.

lilcapdad

• View Profile
Re: Bed Rest in Paris France
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009 at 01:29 PM »
I'm no bedrest mommy, but I AM a bedrest dad!

We are due in Sep. 23rd so we're on a VERY similar schedule! Like you, my wife has been on bedrest since around week 24 or so. I lose track it's been so long! She was hospitalized for 3 weeks and has been on home rest until the baby comes.