Stuck in BedStuck in Bed

Author Topic: 15 weeks of bed rest  (Read 3380 times)

busybaking

• View Profile
15 weeks of bed rest
« on: May 02, 2012 at 10:40 AM »
Hello everyone,

I have been following this website throughout my pregnancy and decided to finally post something because my story may help someone else cope with bed rest :)

This is my first pregnancy and prior to bed rest, I was very active.  I work in a hospital as an occupational therapist and part of my job description was to actually work with women who were on hospital bed rest.  How ironic, however, I don't feel that made bed rest ANY easier for me!  I was an emotional wreck!

My ultrasound tech noticed that I had a short cervix at 21 weeks. She was measuring by using the ultrasound head on the outside of my belly and I believe it was measuring around 3 cm.  It was by chance that my doctor decided to do a trans vaginal ultrasound (TVU) and had me actually bear down..I then funneled down to around 1 cm.  I went straight to the hospital for a rescue cerclage. 

Since the rescue cerclage I have had weekly TVU's, except when things got really short I had translabial ultrasounds as to not irritate my cervix.  After cerclage, at 21 weeks my cervix measured 3.1 cm.  At 25 weeks it went down to 2.4 cm.  At 31 weeks it went down to 1.5 cm.  At 32 weeks it went to 8mm-1.1 cm with funneling...which landed me in the hospital again for 3 days. 

I am now back at home with last cervical measurement of 1.3 at 34 weeks and I don't need to get measured anymore!!!!  I am currently 35 +3 and I can sit up and stand/walk more!  It feels great!!  I also managed to not go into labor last night after hiding out in our basement crawl space because of a possible tornado, ugh!!

My doctor plans to check my cervix next week.  If the stitches look like they are being strained, she will remove them.  If they are fine, she will take them out at week 37 and then I can finally be a "normal" pregnant person!!