Stuck in BedStuck in Bed

Author Topic: 30 wks/5 days and no cervix left!  (Read 4062 times)

Connie

• View Profile
30 wks/5 days and no cervix left!
« on: December 16, 2009 at 09:45 AM »
Hi all -

This is my first time posting.  I have been having u/s cervical length measurements for a few weeks now.  Was short, got shorter, stayed stable and then went from 1.2 or 1.3 last Monday to .5 yesterday!  I am now on strict bedrest (was on less restrictive bedrest for about 5 weeks) and am now taking procardia 3 times a day.  I got my first steroid shot yesterday and I get the second one today.

I guess what I was hoping to know is - does anyone have an experience that sounds similar to mine?  How do I know if I am going to have my baby early??  I'm not having contractions at all and don't really have any other labor symptoms - just this non-existent cervix.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Angela

• Administrator
  • It's all good. 39 weeks...no sweat
    • View Profile
    • KeepEmCookin
Re: 30 wks/5 days and no cervix left!
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2009 at 11:13 AM »
Hi, Connie!

How have you been these last few days?

Your short cervix is indeed a warning sign for preterm birth (see research on cervical length here: www.keepemcookin.com/prevention.aspx). BUT, don't let that discourage you! You have the opportunity to be proactive. You're doing the right thing by taking your bed rest seriously! Did your OB mention staying on your side, not just sitting or reclining? My OB said "Gravity is the enemy" when it comes to a shortening cervix. So, I laid down just about ALL the time, with 15 minutes for meals and 15 minutes of reclining after eating.

I held on from 24 weeks to 39 weeks with a cervix length of 1.5 cm, so have faith. I was also getting the 17P shots. Are you?

Also be sure to call your OB if you have ANY of these symptoms of preterm labor: www.keepemcookin.com/symptoms.aspx

Let me know how you're doing and what you're up to to keep busy!
((((hugs))))