Stuck in BedStuck in Bed

Author Topic: Wanna here your story  (Read 396 times)

Ssalminen

• View Profile
Wanna here your story
« on: February 27, 2018 at 03:44 PM »
Hey mommy's,
I am a mother to 3 girls. I just recently gave birth on 2/10/18 she was a healthy 7 pounds 10 oz. I have never had complications with my pregnancies but I am interested to gain some perspectives from mothers who have! The reason I am interested is because I am a nursing student going to get my BSN, and I am doing a research project to see what mothers in the hospital needed more from their health care team.
If any of you are willing to share your stories I would really appreciate it. Please tell me what you needed from you nurses, physician, midwife... ect. This could be support wise, more information, did you feel in the dark about your pregnancy ever? Or what did you really appreciate that your provider or nurse did that really helped make your experience amazing!?

Thank you all so much!
Good Luck!
- Sami
« Last Edit: March 01, 2018 at 10:18 PM by Ssalminen »
Sami Schelin

OBmom

• View Profile
Re: Wanna here your story
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2018 at 10:02 AM »
Hey there.

Most of us share our stories in the forum, so if you dig around in there you'll find a lot of what you were looking for.

For my part, I had an amazing experience with the nursing staff. They all knew me by name and everyday they updated my gestational age. It felt good to know someone else was counting the time and rooting for extra days / weeks.

The two top things for emotional support were:
1) Having a little "party" every week-mark. My husband would bring take-away to my hospital room and the nurses looked the other way so we could have a sort of family meal, grandmas were invited, and stayed after visiting hours. Made those Tuesdays feel special!