Stuck in BedStuck in Bed

Author Topic: 28 weeks and feeling hopeless  (Read 600 times)

MarilynS24

• View Profile
28 weeks and feeling hopeless
« on: May 30, 2018 at 12:09 AM »
Hello, I’m new to this format and I was hoping to receive a little bit of comfort. I’m 21 years old and I was diagnosed with a short cervix when I was about 23 weeks. I was not recommended a cerclage due to how short my cervix already was. They put me on progesterone but had an issue with my insurance and had to receive the medication as an oral but was told to insert vaginally. For about 2 visits my cervix stayed about 2.0-1.8cm. On my third follow up it went down to 1.7. When I was about 26 weeks + 7 days my cervix went down to 0.7cm. My high risk doctor told me that most likely I will not make it to term and deliver pre maturely. Since the news I decided to put my self on strict bed rest, and I feel absolutely terrified on what’s to come. Tomorrow I will be 28 weeks and I have another doctors appointment to recheck my cervix length. I’m really scared and I don’t want to see my child suffer, due to what my body failed to do. I don’t know what to do and I feel so hopeless.

EnglishRose23

• View Profile
Re: 28 weeks and feeling hopeless
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2018 at 02:07 PM »
Hi Marilyn,

Welcome to the forum. You will find a lot of us are right around the same gestation as you, I'm 28+2 today but it is funny how different we feel about it. I feel so victorious to have carried this far; far enough that my daughter will live and have a good chance of long-term health.