Stuck in BedStuck in Bed

Author Topic: 3rd cerclage and bed rest as last ditch effort  (Read 568 times)

Juliejuju

• View Profile
3rd cerclage and bed rest as last ditch effort
« on: January 21, 2019 at 03:40 PM »
I am pregnant with baby # 4, 3rd cerclage.

I went into labor with baby #1 at 23 weeks, dilated to 3.5, 90% effaced. IV meds to stop labor and strict hospital bed rest and of course progesterone and betamethasone to prep lungs. I eventually delivered at 32 weeks. Daughter was in NICU for a month and had some issues for the first year. She is 5 now.

Diagnosed with incompetent cervix. Very healthy adult, no health issues at all. I’m a pediatric nurse.

With baby #2 we kept monitoring and around 19 weeks cervix shortened a lot with funneling, having little to no symptoms. Rescue cerclage placed. A lot of pain with stitch, many infections, many hospital visits, of course progesterone but no bed rest. Stitch removed at 37 weeks and immediately dilated to 4cm. We all were twiddling our thumbs. She was born full term at 39 weeks! Doctors are still shocked that it turned out that way. Every pregnancy is different! She is 4 now.