Stuck in BedStuck in Bed

Author Topic: Depression during pregnancy  (Read 649 times)

AidansMom

• View Profile
Depression during pregnancy
« on: March 07, 2019 at 02:17 PM »

Hello
This is my first time using a chat group. I am 27 weeks pregnant with a baby boy. I have a history of depression. Recently I've been feeling very down on myself about my weight gain and I just feel very uncomfortable and unattractive which makes me even more depressed when I eat. I've spoken with my doctor and they have recommended medication..if possible I would like to keep my body drug free. I haven't really had good luck with medication in the past. Lately I've even been getting anxious about my baby shower I really can't find the excitement in it. I just feel very guilty for being depressed while I'm pregnant because I know I should be happy. Which I am very excited to meet my little boy. But for whatever reason I cannot control my depression. Are there any mothers out there that have gone through something similar or are currently dealing with this?

Linds

• View Profile
Re: Depression during pregnancy
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2019 at 08:25 PM »
Hi AidansMom,

I suffer from depression too. I had really bad post partum depression after the birth of my first son, and am now having some anxiety and depression during this pregnancy (currently 33 weeks).
I had good success with medication after the birth of my son, and have now been taking the same medication for the last 2 weeks. I think it’s starting to work. I really wanted to get through this pregnancy without medication, but I decided with the help of my doctor that it would be better for me to take it. I am also seeing the therapist I saw after the birth of my first son.
I am hoping to avoid post partum depression this time.

AidansMom

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2019 at 09:25 PM »